New Jersey Joins The Paid Sick Time Movement

On May 2, 2018, Governor Phil Murphy signed bill making New Jersey the 10th state to require employers to provide paid sick leave for employees. The law, which takes effect on October 29, 2018, requires employers to give workers one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, with an annual cap of 40 hours. Importantly, the new law also gives New Jersey a statewide paid-sick-leave policy, superseding similar provisions enacted in 13 towns and cities across the state.

For a copy of the bill, see here.

This entry was posted in Handbook, Sick Leave and tagged , , , , , , , .

Share this Article:

Leave a Reply

View Reply Form

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>